Anish Thapa clinched the 9th edition of Liglig race crown

GORKHA: Anish Thapa of Parbat district has clinched the 9th edition of Liglig race crown after outfoxing 122 runners in 13.5 km race in Gorkha district today.

After completing the race in 58.25 minutes, Thapa will become the king for a year before bagging a cash purse of Rs 60,000, crown, medal, trophy and certificate, the organisers said.

Tirtha Pun of Baglung and Nepal Army Ramji Basnet secured second and third positions respectively. Likewise, they received Rs 35,000 and Rs 25,000 cash prize along with medal, trophy and certificates.

Likewise, Sunita Giri clinched the women’s title. Puspa Bhandari and Dharma Maharjan bagged the open and veteran category awards respectively.

It is believed that Dalsur Ghale Magar became the first king of Liglig Kot by winning the race for three consecutive years. The tradition of selecting the king through the race ended after Drabya Shah came into power via the same race.

The race might have started for a different purpose then but it was restarted nine years ago as an annual competition to attract tourists in the area.

Earlier, Anish Thapa had also won the seventh edition of Liglig race.

Back to top button